AGG Represents Client Helping Mayor Franklin, Atlanta Development Authority and Central Atlanta Progress

AGG Partner Charles T. Huddleston recently joined Atlanta Mayor Shirley Franklin; Peggy McCormick, President of the Atlanta Development Authority; Joe Martin, of Capitol Hill Neighborhood Development Corporation; and representatives of Central Atlanta Progress for the Public Dedication Ceremony and Ribbon-Cutting for the new $14 million Government Center Parking Deck, located in the block just south of Atlanta City Hall.

Arnall Golden Gregory represented Capitol Hill Neighborhood Development Corporation (CHNDC), the developer of the new five-level, state-of-the-art, secure parking facility, which was built following environmentally-friendly guidelines. CHNDC is a non-profit entity formed by the three churches that chose to remain downtown in the Capitol Hill area: Central Presbyterian Church, Trinity United Methodist Church, and The Shrine of the Immaculate Conception. The organization advocates for the mixed-use (including residential), planned development of the south downtown area around the Capitol and City Hall. CHNDC’s first project (in which AGG also represented CHNDC) was Hope House, a residential facility for transitional housing and training for up to 70 homeless men, opened two years ago in the same block. 

The new Government Center Parking Deck officially opened for business on Monday, December 3, 2007, and features covered, secure parking for 500 public vehicles within one block of the State Capitol building, and only a few blocks from the Fulton County Government Center. The deck can be entered from three sides and on three different levels. It features an “Art Wall” on the Central Avenue side, where different artists will have their works displayed. The facility was built so as to allow two additional levels to be built on the top of the structure for possible future residential usage, and a corner of the block was left open with the intention of developing a mixed-use project. AGG Attorneys J. Grant Wilmer Jr., John L. Gornall Jr., Cleburne E. Gregory III, and Jonathan E. Eady also contributed to the project.